It’s still very quiet here though people were in the breakfast room. They were definitely a classier bunch than one normally sees at the Comfort Inn. Most of them looked very serious–people used to thinking Big Thoughts and impatient when the world of normal things intrudes.

Either that or they were just not morning people.

Some of them were dressed quite fancy in a sort of metro-euro kind of way.

This was the best hotel continental breakfast ever. (The only one that rivals it is the one I had in Stockholm, but then, that was the continent.) On my tray today:

Organic-looking melon of various kinds; parma ham (prosciutto?); real yogurt to be mixed up with nice granola and brown sugar; fluffy crunchy bread hand sliced, toasted in the waiting toaster, juice, coffee. There was also several kinds of cheese (brie, gouda), bagels, muffins, croissants, and you had your pick of various designer teas and there was a push-button espresso/cappuccino maker.

I should have made myself a sandwich for lunch with all that stuff but perhaps I’ll be able to on Tuesday.

When I checked in the lady at the desk (who wasn’t Chinese) pointed out that Monday was Chinese new year so I was not to bathe on Monday. “Make sure you take your shower on Sunday night,” she said. “And have some fish on Monday.”

It’s a different world, the Left Coast.

